in

Everything About Warzone’s Gulag Feature In Call of Duty’s Battle Royale

poster for Call of Duty Warzone
Credit: Activision, Warzone

If you haven’t heard, Call of Duty will be getting an update today to release a new battle royale. You might be thinking, “why does every game have to have a battle royale?”. You could be right, but Activision has tried to make this battle royale a little different than the rest.

Call of Duty: Warzone will launch on the 10th March and will be available to play early at 8 am PT / 11 AM ET / 3 PM GMT, for everyone who has the base game, Modern Warfare. If you don’t have Modern Warfare, then you can expect to play the game a few hours later at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 7 PM GMT.

One major way Activision is trying to shake the Battle Royale game mode up is by having a feature and location called the Gulag. In it, you will be sent to Modern Warfare’s Gunfight map where each player that dies in the battle royale will wait patiently and watch as other ‘dead’ players duke it out in a 1v1 scenario.

Here’s what cosmetic crazy Call of Duty put into Modern Warfare.

This feature tried to challenge the classic trait of other Battle Royales where death isn’t such a big deal. Games like Fortnite and Apex Legends have a respawn mechanic where you grab your dead buddies ‘banner’ and take to a respawn location. PUBG does a good job of bringing real stakes with death. You get downed, you might be revived. If not, your dead.

Warzone is trying to bring a new mechanic in, where if you die, instead of your teammate trying to run across half the map in the hopes of holding E on a respawn point, you can try and win your way back into the match. You will watch other people duel in the 1v1 in Gulag, and once it’s your turn you have a chance to prove that you should be back in the match.

If you fail in proving that, there is another mechanic that has to do with your teammates that are alive in the game still. Warzone has a cash machinic, where your squad will complete contracts and kill other enemy players for cash in return. With that cash, you can either buy weapons or supplies and for a premium, you can respawn a fallen ally.

poster for Call of Duty Warzone
Credit: Acitivions, Warzone

With a game mode that boasts up to 150 players in one match, instead of the traditional 100 players, these mechanics will make even one match a bigger investment. With 150 players dropping in, you’re sure to come across a lot more enemies in a match, which could mean it’s harder than most battle royales. Or if the map is big enough you won’t come across as many players.

Call of Duty: Warzone is available on March 10 on PC, Xbox One and Playstation 4 for free, from a separate client.